It’s like being an archeologist…only sidetracked

     I worked with a soft toothbrush (2 actually), a spray bottle of magic, and a soapy rag soaked in a bucket of hot water for hours late into the night on getting the windows clean. Then I moved to the siding. I didn’t mean to wash just one side of the Aristocrat at a time, but it is working that way. I just get so caught up in the moment, that one little rubbing off of dirt leads to the next. It’s like being an archeologist. You discover new shiny things that make you want to see if the neighboring item has the same gleam.

My plan of action was to clear out, and clean up the entire inside before going to the next phase of denuding the flora and fauna growing on the outside of Roxys’ skin.

Clearing and Cleaning Roxy the 13' Aristocrat Lo-Liner

Cleaning the windows in the Aristocrat Travel Trailer

I wanted to give her the time she deserved for the full dermabraison treatment.

Dermabrasion and dermaplaning help to “refinish” the skin’s top layers through a method of controlled surgical scraping. The treatments soften the sharp edges of surface irregularities, giving the skin a smoother appearance.

I knocked off a hunk of olive and black moss with the tail end of my toothbrush and it just seemed to go from there. I’d unveiled white. Not grey, not moss, not dirt, but vintage factory white unseen for ages by any other human. Next thing I knew, I was frying myself a hamburger at 9:30 at night. Hours had passed and I only had the light of a full moon to gauge the success of my labor by. I must say, Roxy, like most women, is beautiful by moonlight filtered through the oaks and firs. I went to bed satisfied, and whipped, but a little afraid that the light of day would reveal nothing but a bad job of cleaning and need for more work. I remember praying as my head hit the pillow and being thankful for a good days work and the body to do the work, as well as the lyrics of a Fernando Ortega hymn going through my head as I fell into a deep sleep.

“When the morning comes on the farthest hill
I will sing His name, I will praise Him, still.
When dark trials come and my heart is filled
With the weight of doubt, I will praise Him, still.”

When I saw my husband off to work this morning at 5:45 there wasn’t enough daylight yet to see. Later after some coffee and internet time, I braved my phone camera and went out for a look.

WHALA my first big before and after photo reveal. Something to sing about!

1967 Aristocrat Before cleaning with a toothbrush and hot soapy water

BEFORE: The Beast hiding the Beauty

 

1967 Aristocrat complete with moss

Neglect

 

Scrubbed & Cleaned up version of the service side of the 1967 13 foot Aristocrat Travel Trailer

AFTER: The Beauty. She's pretty straight with no rust on this side after all the toothbrush archeological digging. No more 'Tears of Green Goo' running down her side.

3 comments on “It’s like being an archeologist…only sidetracked

  1. "Lou" - Kary says:

    J-mo… ehh hemm I mean Thelma,

    Okay I feel like a commercial but girlie you need to go to Guys True Value and pick up a gallon of 30 sec cleaner… I used this in the classrooms to “hose off” all the cruddy-grimy years imbedded in the dimpling of the beige chairs and tables.. crayon, glue, dirt, and Lord knows what else….. you spray it on….and its like watching nicotine run down the wall at mom’s.. its crazy and a little…. LITTLE elbow grease if at all….
    http://www.30seconds.net/ ya….. im serious… and then you can get your testimonial to this company too!
    Love you and your Roxy with Moxy –

    • vintagerover says:

      I bought the 30 seconds. The fridge was an unscary place to tackle with that kind of brute force in front of my trigger finger. Mold and stuck on gitchygoomies left the building, er, I mean the fridge with no problem. Thanks for the advice Lou.

  2. ofeargall says:

    Jalet, you’re amazing. I’ve seen you wrestle the beauty out of the most disgusting places over the years. You don’t have the Midas touch, you’ve got the Midas vision, muscle and persistence!

Leave a Reply

