The Trailer Tick

Hello Rover followers. My excellent wife has seen fit to give me a chance at guest posting. Enjoy.

Driving is a significant part of my life. Three days a week I make the 140 mile round trip to our Eugene office. There are a number of ways to get to my office and most of the time I take a very similar route for the sake of saving time. That said, there are a lot of backroads between our front door and the freeway.

The fields of Polk County

The fields near home are a backroad adventurer delight.

It’s on these roads that my keen eye searches for trailers that my dear Vintage Rover might burst into song over. I’ve been bitten by the trailer bug too. I’ve got the Trailer Tick. True story. I can think of 3 trailers right this second that if I had some extra “Benjamins” I would walk up and make a cash offer – no hesitation.

I also like to see old trailers and the way people have treated them with creative license to cover the inevitable blemishes that accrue over years of travel and neglect.

On my way home the other night with our son we spotted a sweet little Aloha “canned ham” out in a vast field just a few miles from our house. The sun was setting and the glow was perfect. The little gem was perched at the edge of a pond with a whispery willow tree waving wind-blown branches over it like Vannah White revealing a new letter on The Wheel of Fortune. I knew I only had a few minutes to get the shot as the sun was setting fast. Photographers refer to the hour around sunset and sunrise the “magic hour”. Unfortunately I was hearing the clock tick away in “magic seconds” before the light succumbed to the mountains west of us and didn’t get to spend as much time as I would have liked. Regardless, I pulled the Jeep out into the field and whipped the camera out.

It was a beautiful setting and I don’t know that I captured it exactly as it was in my mind’s eye, but it was a fun little adventure if even for only a moment.

Do you see trailers while your out and about? Where are they? Have one that you pass all the time and think to yourself “you know, I should just go up and ask”? Well, do it.

Oh, and if this little sweetheart is your trailer please drop us a line in the comments, I’d really like to photograph the inside too!

Aloha Canned Ham Polk County, Oregon

The little gem looks like a perfect respite in the fields near home.

;

Aloha Canned Ham Trailer

The magic hour.

;

Magic hour light on a canned ham Aloha trailer

Whispy Willow, a pond and the setting sun.

3 comments on “The Trailer Tick

  1. sister in law says:

    I just peed a little! This is Little Mary Sunshine, as my mom used to call me… This is such a joy to see. Thank you PaddyÓ for taking the photo that sent me back to a warm embrace of my Mommy. Who knew?

  2. John rouse says:

    John again I have a1955 compact aloha she’s 13 total long shes a cool little trailer. I live in portland oregon.

  3. john says:

    Cool 56 or 57 aloha i just bought the same trailer mines a 1955 same size.

Leave a Reply

