Lucy In Disguise With Diamonds And The Brown Cloak Of Wonder.

Image

1969.  A good year.

Why? My husband was born and so was Lucille the 8 foot Aristocrat Fireball we own. Lucille is in my front yard. She came to live with us last month. She has issues that need addressing. Big things. Well things that take time really. For instance, she has a tear in the corner of the roof at the rear. Because of it she has rot, and not a little spot under the corner of her silver skin. The kind of ROT that means take all the skin off section by section and replace framing and ALL of the paneling on the interior.

Image

Image

Now as daunting as all that is, summer coming to an end and the time to do such a time sucking task is closing rapidly. Currently we have a brown tarp wrapped around her to keep the weather out. Sad as it is to see her in her brown hospital gown, it gives me hope. I have spent nearly as much time going through the internet with a fine tooth comb looking for photos of other Aristocrat Fireballs as  it may have taken to just fix Lucille. Having owned up to fact I am a little overwhelmed, I am also filled with excitement every time I think about hooking her to a tow vehicle and spending my first weekend in her by a stream. I have the place all picked out in Central Oregon off the Metolius or Deschutes River. Heck, I can even smell the the sweet Ponderosa pines in the heat and taste that camp coffee.

Image

When I look at her covered in the dismal brown tarp, it is a little depressing. I want to go adventuring in her NOW! When I get to feeling down about her progress and how much I hate she has to wear that shabby gown, I start getting empowered somehow. I start seeing that old vinyl tarp as the ‘Cape Of Power’ she wears that takes her from being a lowly little neglected hunk of tin and dry rot, to a fun loving gal who can conquer any road adventure I throw at her, and do it with style darn it! It is going to happen, it is going to happen, IT IS GOING TO HAPPEN, and I just can’t help but get excited to go out an play with my new friend Lucille, (or Lucy to those of us who are family).  My brown tarp of despair can be my Brown Cloak Of Road Wonder if I just let myself believe it, and you know what?  I DO BELIEVE IT!  When she gets her build on, and her new interior design work fininished she will be an outdoorsman-woman to be reckoned with.   The Beatles may of summed this project up best. “LUCY IN THE SKY” but at the moment the appliciable song version may be the parody song “Lucy In Disguise” by John Fred and His Playboy Band”.

ImageLucy In The Sky With Diamonds lyricsSongwriters: Mccartney, Paul; Lennon, John;

Picture yourself in a boat on a river
With tangerine trees and marmalade skies
Somebody calls you, you answer quite slowly
A girl with kaleidoscope eyes

Cellophane flowers of yellow and green
Towering over your head
Look for the girl with the sun in her eyes
And she’s gone

Lucy in the sky with diamonds
Lucy in the sky with diamonds
Lucy in the sky with diamonds, ah

Leave a Reply

